Friday, March 20, 2009

Tips&Tricks for speeding up Firefox

We’re not living in the “old computers” era anymore, but that doesn’t mean can’t have a quick loading browser or that we can’t reach optimal performance for what we have. I’ve seen many debates and advices last week that were explaining on how to tweak up Firefox in order to achieve maximum performance and I’m going to share with you the tips that really worked for me.

Save bandwidth. Get only the pages you desire

Firefox analyzes the page you load and anticipates the links you MIGHT click on; then it starts loading the page behind that link, using up bandwidth and resources. Basically, you’re downloading pages you’re not even seeing. If you’re using a cable modem or a DSL connection, you shouldn’t worry about this. The problem is this feature is enabled by default so here’s how you disable it.


* type “about:config” in the address bar

* filter the search for “network”

* double click “network.prefetch-next”

* change the value to “FALSE”

Define the upper RAM usage limit yourself. Take control.

I tested most of the browsers that exist on the market, ever since IE 4.0 and Firefox and Opera are by far the ones that take up less memory for 10 opened windows. That’s directly related to the tabbed-browsing concept they’re both promoting. Anyway, as I was talking about Firefox, there is a hidden setting that allows you to specify the maximum amount of RAM memory it’s allowed to use. Since you are required to modify a value, let me explain how you will find the optimal one for your system. It depends on the RAM your machine runs with. For values between 512MB-1GB of RAM, use figures above 15.000. If you have below 512MB, just try 50.000 and you’ll be fine. Here are the steps:.



* type “about:config” in the address bar

* filter the search for “browser.cache”

* double click “browser.cache.memory.capacity”

* enter the proper value

Optimize page loading settings

It was hard for me to believe it’s optimized by default for dial-up, although at least 80% of the connections worldwide are above dial-up. During a page load, Firefox loads elements from a page one by one, instead of downloading them in packages. On fast computers or with decent internet connections, this might not be as obvious as it sounds, but the simple fact that your browser is limited should raise a sign ;) Here are the steps for tweaking that up.


* type “about:config” in the address bar


* filter the search for “network.http”

* set “network.http.pipelining” to “TRUE”

* set “network.http.proxy.pipelining” to “TRUE”

* set “network.http.pipelining.maxrequests” to the maximum number of simultaneous requests you want made (e.g 25)

* right click on a white space and click New -> Integer. Name it “nglayout.initialpaint.delay” and modify its value to “0″; it’s the amount of time your browser waits before acting on received information

Cut the ram usage when minimizing Firefox

I’ve got a good result on this one, somewhere around 12000KB (12MB). This tweak will move Firefox’s used memory to your HDD freeing up your RAM. I don’t think there’s much to be said about this as we all understand the purpose and advantages, so here are the steps:




* type “about:config” in the address bar

* right click in any blank space

* choose New -> Boolean

* name the variable “config.trim_on_minimize”

* set it to “TRUE”


Firefox usually reads the about:config information when started. That means you have to reset the browser after making a change in those settings. Careful what you do and what you change since you’re playing with important information. As always, I’m open to your feedback. Good luck ;)

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

Fix Slow internet connection

A slow internet connection can be frustrating as you waste a lot of time trying to open any web page and your internet connection may get disconnected in the middle of a download. Internet connections will be slower during the day, when most people access the internet at their workplace and at night. You can get the best speed early in the morning (between 2 am and 8 am) and on Sunday morning.

How to fix it

For a cable internet connection

1.Check if the hub/cable modem through which your connection is routed is working properly. Sometimes, there is a problem with a single port.

2. Check if you installed any firewall software. Some firewall software block the ports required by cable internet connection software for connecting with the server

3. Check whether the fiber optic cables are installed underground or overhead. Though manufacturers recommend different grades of cable for underground and overhead use, the same grade of cable is used for overhead cabling also by some companies. So a crow pecking at the fiber optic cable may damage it. Your cable operator will have to get the cable spliced , which may take time.

4. There may be congestion in the cable network, server (ISP) or bandwidth may not be available. You can only try to connect to the internet after some time.

5. Check for viruses, trojans and spyware, data may be transferred away from your computer without your knowledge.



Download free antivirus software



Download free spyware and
adware removers



For a dialup internet connection (some of these solutions may also be applicable to DSL connections , since the same telephone wires are used)

1. Check if the connection between wires is proper. Sometimes, a connection is made by just removing the insulation from the wire, without crimping any connector. If the connection is loose, tighten it using a screwdriver. Remove multiple wires at a single connection and check if there is any improvement.

2. Remove all dust and any oxidation on the connecting wires. Also try interchanging the junction box at which the wires are connected.

3. Check if the wires in the junction box outside your house are fixed properly. Sometimes , pranksters either partially pull out the telephone lines or interchange them.

4. Check if your modem is working properly by using another modem or computer.

5. If it rains very heavily, due to the high level of humidity, all telephone lines in your area will be affected. You can either register a complaint with the telephone exchange (local office) or wait till the sun shines again.

6. If there is welding work being done in a nearby area, the electrical noise from the welding machine could distort the data signal. You may have to wait till the work is completed.

7. When there is a calamity or problem at the ISP's telephone exchange, you may get the message " all lines in this route are busy, please try again"

8. Sometimes, if the same internet connection is connected to 2 different machines and both the machines are switched on, you may not be able to connect to the internet. If you switch off one machine, you will be able to connect to the internet. This could be because the 2 machines have different internal modems.

9. If you get an error message "there is no dial tone", it means that either the telephone wire is not connected to your computer or the telephone line is dead. Connect the wire back to the internal modem in your computer or complain to the local telephone exchange if the phone is dead.

Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Show hidden files and folders not working - after virus attack (heap41a svchost.exe)

I had this problem. In Tools> Folder options > View - hidden files and folders


The


Show hidden files and folders not working - after virus attack (heap41a svchost.exe)



This is how you get the settings back to normal.


First take


Start > Run >


Type regedit in the Run box and click OK


The Registry editor opens up (See the image below)


Follow the steps in the animation below to get back the folder options to normal to see hidden files.




Browse to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\



CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced\Folder\Hidden\SHOWALL



Change the value of CheckedValue from 0 to 1



Cleaning the pen drive right click options :




Browse to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\



CurrentVersion\Explorer\MountPoints2



Delete all the long keys ( which look like  {DGF53-353b3gg3-353523-3g523g}  ) there.


Still having problems with this “Orkut is banned” virus ” ??



First make sure that the virus is completely removed from the computer.


How to remove “Use Internet Explorer you dope, I dnt hate Mozilla but use IE`r OR ELSE…” svchost.exe heap41a virus

http://www.fundazone.com/2007/06/how-to-remove-use-internet-explorer-you-dope-i-dnt-hate-mozilla-but-use-ier-or-else-svchostexe-heap41a-virus/


Then go to :


Start >Run >

Type regedit



Browse to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\


CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced\Folder\Hidden\SHOWALL


Change the value of CheckedValue from 0 to 1


Take My Computer > Tools > Folder Options



Change the setting to show hidden files and folders


Apply and check again.


If it doesn’t work, there is another setting in the registry maybe in HKEY_USERS or HKEY_CURRENT_CONFIG or even HKEY_CURRENT_USER which overrides this setting.

I’ll try to find out where it is (I came across such a problem earlier and I found that key by luck) The key is in a similar place like this \Software\Microsoft\Windows\ CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced\Folder\Hidden\SHOWALL


only that the beginning is different.


I’ll post it here when I find it. If anybody knows where it is, please do reply http://www.fundazone.com/2007/09/show-hidden-files-and-folders-not-working-after-virus-attack-heap41a-svchostexe/#comment-146



It’s a relatively new virus, so most antivirus softwares are not able to detect and delete it.


To remove the virus completely, first you have to end the process svchost.exe belonging to the current user (i think you were able to do that and it worked). But then, the virus files are still hidden in your computer in two places.

In C:\heap41a and in temporary folder.


A trick to get to these folders :


Start > Run

Type C:\heap41a . Click OK


Now, you should be able to see and delete the virus files


Second location (temporary files)

Start > Run

Type %temp% . Click OK

Here, you see the virus files it used to enter the computer.

Fundas on removing "Orkut is banned" svchost.exe and heap41a Virus




Yet another message “ORKUT IS BANNED,Orkut is banned you fool`,The administrators didnt write this program guess who did??`r`r MUHAHAHA!!”

What about www.youtube.com ? That is banned too !!!

It’s just a worm, a virus or a trojan or whatever malicious hacker or craker program or script it is. Wrtitten is VBScript programming labguage by a crazy rascal who deserves to rot in his/her grave for disabling Firefox of all softwares !

How to remove the Orkut and Firefox and Youtube banning virus ?

Simple.

* First press Control-Alt-Delete (Ctrl-Alt-Del is called the three finger exercise in Windows)

* There Click Processes , then click User Name to arrange according to users.

* Now, look for svchost.exe run by User name “user” or “admin” or “your computer name” There will be two of them. Right click and end both the svchost.exe processes where the User Name is NOT “SYSTEM” or “NETWORK SERVICE” or “LOCAL SERVICE” Only where the user name is “USER” or “ADMIN” or “ADMINISTRATOR” or “your name”
* Next Click Start > Run > Type cmd in the box and press enter (Just get the Command Prompt of DOS - C:\windows\system32\cmd.exe)
* There in the black Command Line, type “ cd \ ” and press Enter
* It has to change to C:\>
* Next, type attrib -s -r -h heap41a /s /d and press Enter
* Then Open C: on My computer and delete the folder heap41a ie C:\heap41a
* Then remove C:\heap41a\svchost.exe shortcut from C:\Documents and Settings\USER\Start Menu\Programs\Startup (Or Start > All Programs >Startup)
* That’s all
* Then clean the pen drive

Cleaning the pen drive :

* First make sure that the computer is clean (all viruses have been removed)
* Plug in the pen driv, but make sure YOU DON’T DOUBLE CLICK on the pen drive icon in My Computer
* Open My Computer . Right Click on the pen drive.
* Click Search from the menu that appears ( Auto, Autoplay, Open (O), all belong to the virus and clicking any of them will infect the computer with the virus again.
* In Search All files and folders
* Type ” *.exe ” (without the ” “) in the first box (all or part of the filename)
* Click More advanced options justabove the search button
* Tick Search hidden files and folders
* Click Search button
* In the files that come in the search results, look for files of the Type Application with the icon of a folder
* These .exe files are trying to disguise themselves as folders to fool you into clicking them, so the most probably are viruses !!!
* Delete them (make a backup copy if required) and check the pen drive again.

Sunday, February 17, 2008

Increase Your Cable Modem or DSL Speed in XP

This tweak is for broad band cable connections on stand alone machines with WinXP professional version - might work on Home version also. It may also work with networked machines as well.

* In the “My Network Places” properties (right-click on the desktop icon and choose properties), highlight the connectionthen at the menu bar choose “Advanced” then “Advanced Settings”. Uncheck the two boxes in the lower half for thebindings for File and Printer sharing and Client for MS networks. Click OK.
* From the Windows XP CD in the support directory from the support cab, extract the file netcap.exe and place it in adirectory on your hard drive or even in the root of your C: drive.
* Next, open up a command prompt window and change directories to where you put netcap.exe. then type “netcap/?”. It will list some commands that are available for netcap and a netmon driver will be installed. At the bottom you willsee your adapters. You should see two of them if using a 3Com card. One will be for LAN and the other will be forWAN something or other.
* Next type “netcap/Remove”. This will remove the netmon driver.
* Open up Control Panel->System->Dev Man and look at your network adapters. You should now see two of them and one will have a yellow ! on it. Right-click on the one without the yellow ! and choose uninstall. YES! You are uninstalling your network adapter, continue with the uninstall. Do not restart yet.
Check your connection properties to make sure that no connection exists. If you get a wizard just cancel out of it. Now re-start the machine.
# After re-start go to your connection properties again and you should have a new connection called “Local area connection 2″. Highlight the connection, then at the menu bar choose “Advanced” then “Advanced Settings”. Uncheck the two boxes in the lower half for the bindings for File and Printer sharing and Client for MS networks. Click OK.
# Choose connection properties and uncheck the “QOS” box.
# Re-start the machine

4 Ways to Increase Your Internet Broadband Connection Speed

There are many occasions when you will get into internet connection problems and will not be able to get online and handle your normal online business, this is the stage when you need to try out some of these tweaks for the respective connections. If you are using airtel 8mbps connection then you wont need these tweaks because its one of the best broadband service provider in India.

First of all check out your current broadband speed and note it down and then apply the following tweaks one by one :

1. Reducing your Web Cache Space : You need to reduce your web cache space to the minimum because this way your browser does not need to search much in the temporary files. For this you need to do the following :
Click Start > Click on Control Panel > Double Click on Internet Options > Click on Setting option under the Browsing History[Delete temporary files, history, cookies, saved passwords & web information].
Internet Properties Control Panel
Now reduce the cache size to the minimum recommended disk space which is normally 50Mb disk space. This way your internet connection speed will increase to some extent.
Temporary Internet Files
2. Speed Up your Web Pages by blocking multimedia & Turning off Graphics: This is a very important tweak which can help you increase your broadband speed by many times. Here are the steps :
Click on Start > Click on Control Panel > Double Click on Internet Options > Click on Settings under Advanced Menu > Deselect some of the options which you dont need generally while browsing example removing Show pictures if you normaly use internet connection for check out your emails etc.
Advanced Internet Options
Generally you need to disable Images, sounds, animations etc in order to increase your internet speed because text wont take much time to load up in a slow connection.
3. Send Bulk emails using distribution lists : If you are looking to send a email to multiple reciptants then its time for you to signup for email distributions by creating mailing lists, this way you can get your work sorted even if you are on a very slow internet connection.
4. FasterFox Firefox AddonUse Fasterfox : A firefox Add-On which can increase your browser performance and network tweak to increase your browsing speed. The Add-on automaticaly loads up silently all the links open when there is idle bandwidth and help you to save up some loading time with a inbuilt pop-up blocker to block unwanted pop-up’s

Dont forget to read these tips for increasing your internet browsing speed by 4 times which is related to your browser settings.

Sunday, December 9, 2007

Hacks to Beat Rapidshare Download Limits and Waiting Time

Here are some hints to help you more efficently use rapidshare. Skipping waiting time and bypassing download limits are rapidshare hacks that everybody should know.

Rapidshare has been an excellent tool for sharing large files. Recently users have discovered ways of bypassing the download limits and skipping the waiting time. Here are a description of these methods.

Update: Two new methods of bypassing download limits have been posted. These are more advanced and may require additional software or hardware, but you should check them out when you are done with these easier methods:

RapidShare: NIC tricks and MAC cloning to bypass download limit

Rapidshare traces the users IP address to limit each user to a certain amount of downloading per day. To get around this, you need to show the rapidshare server a different IP address.

Here are some methods for doing this:

1. Short-Out the JavaScript:

1. Goto the page you want to download
2. Select FREE button
3. In the address bar put the following: javascript:alert(c=0)
4. Click OK
5. Click OK to the pop-up box
6. Enter the captcha
7. Download Your File



2. Request a new IP address from your ISP server.

Here's how to do it in windows:
1. Click Start
2. Click run
3. In the run box type cmd.exe and click OK
4. When the command prompt opens type the following. ENTER after each new line.
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
exit


5. Erase your cookies in whatever browser you are using.
6. Try the rapidshare download again.

Frequently you will be assigned a new IP address when this happens. Sometime you will, sometimes you will not. If you are on a fixed IP address, this method will not work. To be honest, I do not know how to do this in linux/unix/etc. If this works for you, you may want to save the above commands into a batch file, and just run it when you need it.



3. Use a proxy with SwitchProxy and Firefox:

1. Download and install Firefox if you have not already
2. Download and install SwitchProxy
3. Google for free proxies
4. When you hit your download limit, clean your cookies and change your proxy



4. Use an anonymous service:

Running your system through the tor network should in theory work; however, it is difficult to use and setup. Plus, you allow others to run their evil deeds through your system as well by using this system. Anonymizer 2005 is inexpensive, easy to use, but not free. Other pay services would likely work as well.



5. You can use a bookmarklet to stop your wait times:

1. Open IE
2. Right Click On This Link
3. Select Add to Favorites
4. Select Yes to the warning that the bookmark may be unsafe.
5. Name it "RapidShare No Wait"
6. Click on the Links folder (if you want to display it in your IE toolbar)
7. Click OK
8. You may need to close and reopen IE to see it
9. Goto rapidshare and click the bookmarklet when you are forced to wait

Windows XP: Taming the Eye Candy to Speed Up Computing

on your Desktop and choose Properties.

Choose the Advanced tab.

From the Advanced tab click the Settings button under Performance.

Select Adjust for best performance, this will uncheck all the options. Now go back and select the following:

Smooth edges of screen fonts
Use common tasks in folders
Use drop shadows for icon labels on the desktop
Use visual styles on windows and button

How to rename 'My Computer'

This little tweak will rename My Computer to "Computername" allowing you to easily see which computer you are logged on to.

Open the Registry Editor (You have to use REGEDT32.EXE) click Start, Run, and type "regedt32" then click on OK to start the regedit utility.

Expand HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}

Rename the value named "LocalizedString" to "LocalizedString.orig". Create a new REG_EXPAND_SZ

value named "LocalizedString", and set the value to "%COMPUTERNAME%".

Exit the registry editor, right click on your desktop and click Refresh. The My Computer icon should now be renamed to "Computername".

Now one only has to glance at the desktop to see what computer they are on.

how to fix Double Click on Drive-"Open with" problem

you can solve your "Double click your Disk drive" problem with the following solution.
1-2. double click on My computer on Desktop ,
- choose Tool and select "Folder options"
- click on "View" tap select "Show Hidden files and folders" and un hake "Hide Extension...."
- and "Hide protected operating system file" (this selections are important to find the files you need to delete)
- then click "OK"

3. open Windows Task Manager (ctrl-alt-del) and select the "Processes" tap
- Click on "Image name" to sort File
- find "wscript.exe" and click on "End Process" (if there is more than one process with that name you have to end all of them)
- close the "Task Manager"

4. then you will click on Start and select "Search" and search for "autorun.inf" (Search the computer)
- you will then delete all the files that contains the text MS32DLL.dll.vbs (the virus) by pressing: SHIFT + DELETE. (There of course should not be Autorun.inf in the C tooth).

5. you will also delete the virus from the system (C:\WINDOWS\ MS32DLL.dll.vbs) by pressing: SHIFT + DELETE

6. Next step is to edit the Register (Like always you have to be very care fool in the registry tools. Some mistake there can crash your computer)

- first, click on "Start" and select "Run" and type in "Reedit" and press "Enter".
- select HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE --> Software -->Microsoft -->Windows --> Current Version --> Run.
- find there "MS32DLL" and delete that entry.

6. Then select HKEY_CURRENT_USER --> Software --> Microsoft --> Internet Explorer --> Main. There you find "Window Title "Hacked by Godzilla"" and you should delete that entry. You can close the registry now.

7. next you will click on Start --> Run and type in "gpedit.msc" and press "Enter". then you will open "Group Policy".
- there you will select User Configuration --> Administrative Templates --> System --> and there you will double click on "Turn Off Auto play"

- in the window there you should select "Enabled" and select "All drives" (they say in this Thai webside that select all turn of Autoplay will be safer for not getting viruses). Now you can close the Group Policy.

8. Next you will click on Start --> Run and type "msconfig" and press "Enter".
- you will open "System Configuration Utility".
- click on "Startup" tap
- find the file MS32DLL, choose Enable All, then unhake "MS32DLL"
- click Apply then OK to close

- then you will exit the "System Configuration Utility" and select "Exit Without Restart" when prompt.

9. After this you double click on My Computer and select "Tools" and "Folder Options" and "View" tap to change back there.
- select "Hide Extention..." and "Hide protected operating system file" and "Don't show hidden files and folders".

- then you will empty the "Recycle bin" and "Restart" your computer.

or visit http://www.techsupportforum.com/sectools/sUBs/Flash_Disinfector.exe

download and execute to get rid of the issue.

Tuesday, August 7, 2007

speed up firefox

forevergeek.com has a useful guide on speeding up firefox for broadband users. basically after getting to the hidden config settings you set the browser to request more data that it usually does.

1.Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

network.http.pipelining network.http.proxy.pipelining network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows:

Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives.

If you're using a broadband connection you'll load pages MUCH faster now!

Speed Up Internet Explorer (IE) Hack

This is a compilation for the legendary Internet Explorer.. which is the most frequently used browser .



internet Exporer Tricks: Rahul


INTERNET EXPLORER Speed up STARTUP .


Isn't it annoying when you want to go to a new website, or any other site but your homepage, and you have to wait for your 'home' to load? This tweak tells Internet Explorer to simply 'run', without loading any webpages. (If you use a 'blank' page, that is still a page, and slows access. Notice the 'about:blank' in the address bar. The blank html page must still be loaded..). To load IE with 'nothing' [nothing is different than blank]:


1. Right-click on any shortcut you have to IE
[You should create a shortcut out of your desktop IE icon, and delete the original icon]
2. Click Properties
3. Add ' -nohome' [with a space before the dash] after the endquotes in the Target field.
4. Click OK
Fire up IE from your modified shortcut, and be amazed by how fast you are able to use IE!

~ cheers ~ (it works)


INTERNET EXPLORER SPEED UP.


Edit your link to start Internet Explorer to have -nohome after it. For Example: "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome
This will load internet explorer very fast because it does not load a webpage while it is loading. If you want to go to your homepage after it is loaded, just click on the home button.


or


Open registry editor by going to Start then >> Run and entering >> regedit.

Once in registry, navigate to key.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\InternetSettings. Right click @ windows right > New > DWORD.

Type MaxConnectionsPerServer > You can set value (the more higher the no, the more good speed u get, e;g : 99). [99 in hexa so 153 in binary]

Create another DWORD >type MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server. Then put a high value as mentioned above.

Restart I.E and you are done.


SPEED UP BROWSING WITH DNS trick.!!


when you connect to a web site your computer sends information back and forth, this is obvious. Some of this information deals with resolving the site name to an IP address, the stuff that tcp/ip really deals with, not words. This is DNS information and is used so that you will not need to ask for the site location each and every time you visit the site. Although WinXP and win2000 has a pretty efficient DNS cache, you can increase its overall performance by increasing its size. You can do this with the registry entries below:



Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Dnscache\Parameters]
"CacheHashTableBucketSize"=dword:00000001
"CacheHashTableSize"=dword:00000180
"MaxCacheEntryTtlLimit"=dword:0000fa00
"MaxSOACacheEntryTtlLimit"=dword:0000012d



make a new text file and rename it to dnscache.reg. Then copy and paste the above into it and save it. Then merge it into the registry.


START Internet EXPLORER WITH EMPTY BLUE SCREEN.!!


Set your default page to about:mozilla and IE will show a nice blue screen upon startup.


FIX IE 6 SLOWDOWNS AND HANGS.


1. Open a command prompt window on the desktop (Start/Run/command).
2. Exit IE and Windows Explorer (iexplore.exe and explorer.exe, respectively, in Task Manager, i.e - Ctrl-Alt-Del/Task Manager/Processes/End Process for each).
3. Use the following command exactly from your command prompt window to delete the corrupt file:
C:\>del "%systemdrive%\Documents and Settings\%username%\Local
Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\index.dat"
4. Restart Windows Explorer with Task Manager (Ctrl-Alt-Del/Task Manager/Applications/New Task/Browse/C:\Windows\explorer.exe[or your path]) or Shutdown/Restart the computer from Task Manager.


SPEED UP WEB BROWSING.


Iv'e personally found a dramatic increase in web browsing after clearing the Windows XP DNS cache. To clear it type the following in a command prompt: ipconfig /flushdns.

ALLOW MORE THAN 2 SIMULTANEOUS DOWNLOADS ON IEXPLORER 6.
This is to increase the the number of max downloads to 10.
1. Start Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe).
2. Locate the following key in the registry:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings
3. On the Edit menu, click Add Value , and then add the following registry values:
"MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server"=Dword:0000000a
"MaxConnectionsPerServer"=Dword:0000000a
4. Quit Registry Editor.


IPV6 INSTALLATION FOR WINDOWS XP.


This protocol is distined to replace the Internet Protocal Version 4 used by Internet Explorer it uses hexadecimal ip addresses instead of decimal example (decimal ip 62.98.231.67) (hexadecimal IP 2001:6b8:0:400::70c)
To install To install the IPv6 Protocol for Windows XP:
Log on to the computer running Windows XP with a user account that has local administrator privileges. Open a command prompt. From the Windows XP desktop, click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, and then click Command Prompt. At the command prompt, type: ipv6 install
For more information on IPv6, visit the site below:
CODEhttp://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/techinfo/administration/ipv6/default.asp


ANOTHER WAY TO FIX IEXPLORER 6 SLOW PAGES LOADED.


Here's an easier way to get to index.dat file as addresse in another tweak submitted here.
1. click on Internet Explorer
2. go to to your root dir (usually C:)
3. open Documents and Settings folder
4. open "your username folder"
5. open UserData
6. **close IE if you have it open**
rename index.dat to index.old
logoff and log back on (don't need to restart) open up IE and go to a web page or site that always seemed to load slowly. It should load a lot more quickly now. NOTE. Always rename or backup .dat or other system files before deleting.

Disable Right Click!!

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions]
"NoBrowserContextMenu"=dword:00000001

Enable Right Click!!

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions]
"NoBrowserContextMenu"=dword:00000000

do u want to save entire Page For offline viweing??

Saving Web Pages with Internet Explorer 6

Occasionally, you may want to save an entire Web page on your computer (text, hyperlinks, graphics, and all). To save the Web page that currently appears in Internet Explorer, choose File-->Save As to open the Save Web Page dialog box shown in the following figure. Select the folder in which you want the page saved and then click the Save button.
After saving a Web page on your hard drive, you can open it in Internet Explorer and view the contents even when you're not connected to the Internet. If your motive for saving the Web page, however, is to be able to view the content when you're not connected to the Internet, you're better off saving the page as a Favorite marked for offline viewing. That way, you can decide whether you want to view other pages linked to the one you're saving and you can have Internet Explorer check the site for updated content.
You can also e-mail a Web page or a link to the page to a colleague or friend. To send the current Web page in a new e-mail message, click File-->Send-->Page by E-mail on the Explorer menu bar and then fill out the new e-mail. To send a link to the page instead, click File-->Send-->Link by E-Mail. To create a desktop shortcut to the Web page, click File-->Send-->Shortcut to Desktop.

Add "INSERT" Option in CD Drive Context Menu ! So guys!

Adding "Insert" Option In your CD/DVD Rom drive's Context Menu.
(You can bring the context menu by right clicking the optical drive)

Just copy the "cdeject.dll" file to the system drive in the following folder :\Windows\System32
(expl: C:\Windows\Sysytem32. Feel free to change the drive letter acoding to your machine config)

Now open the notepad and copy the following ::-->

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{02A07E80-EFA2-11D4-8306-A7EBD4C50C7C}]
@="CDEject Context Menu Shell Extension"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{02A07E80-EFA2-11D4-8306-A7EBD4C50C7C}\InprocServer32]
@="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\cdeject.dll"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\{02a07e80-efa2-11d4-8306-a7ebd4c50c7c}]
@="{02a07e80-efa2-11d4-8306-a7ebd4c50c7c}"

Save it as .REG extension.
(Expl:- cdeject.reg or anything.reg)

Now click it.....and it ask you for permission to add the information to the registry.....Click yes
Volila!!!!!!!!
You can now open / close your optical drive's Tray via your OS....
What's the catch ?
It defiantly increase your drive's life span.

Note:--- Windows 2003 server OS shows the menu after 3-4 restarts.

Download cdeject.dll from here.

http://my.opera.com/winamp/homes/blog/cdeject.dll

Note:- I found this tricks in some Tech forum and share it here...Original creator of this tweak Vishal Gupta from India.....Any query-based discussion about this matter is always welcome......I just share it here for those people...who still don't know the tricks...that's all my purpose....no need to say I know you before.

Sunday, July 22, 2007

HOW TO USE FTP

::Don't use this for illegal stuff::

Introduction:

Telnet is used to connect to remote machines through emulation. This means that
it can connect to a server, any server instantly because of it's ability to emulate (copy)
remote computers.

Lets Start:

In Windows, Telnet can be found by going to Start -> Run and then typing telnet.
The application should then pop up. If you don't have Windows, there are many Telnet alternatives for mac, linux etc. Since I don't know any,search the internet for Telnet for Linux or Telnet for Mac and you should find something instantly.

If you have a PC and are using Windows 98/95, 2000, Me, or XP continue...
As you can see, Telnet has 4 menu options. These are Connect, Edit, Terminal, and Help.
If you click Connect, you should see more options. Here they are.
Connect:
Remote System..
Disconnect
Exit
Names of servers you have been on.
To connect to a server, click Remote System...
This will then take you to a dialog box that has these fields:
Hostname:
Port:
TermType:
There should also be a Connect button and a Cancel Button.
Lets go over these & what you should put in them.
-Hostname-
The Hostname can be the address of the website your going to be connecting to:
http://www.oreos.com
or it can be the IP address. Keep in mind that you can only connect to servers and not to clients (other PCs)
an IP Address looks like this:
210.111.23.45
-Port-
Port can bb either the port number you wanna connect to on the server (Port 80 is the Internet, Port 23 is Simple Mail Protocol then there are some more ports for different things..)
or you can keep it Telnet and see what happens.
-TermType-
TermType is the type of Terminal telnet will be acting like.
This doesn't matter most of the time, so you can keep it to default or try other ones if you want.
When you have all this set up, you can Click Connect & see what happens.
Note: Sometimes many servers don't like anon people just logging on, so be careful when logging onto servers, because sometimes it might be some big company that likes bullying people or just SOMEONE who likes bullying people and then they might want to find you or trace you or something and I know for a fact you don't need that happening.
Another Note: When you go to a server and type something, such as a login name or a password, you might not see anything even though you are typing. this is a feature that telnet or the other server uses. It's for some kind of safety measure.
Ok that's all for the Connect Menu, lets go over the Terminal menu.
The terminal menu should have 3 options:
Prefernces
Start Logging
Stop Logging.
-Prefernces-
If you go to this, a dialog box will come up with various options. Here, you can change the
text color & background color of the program, and you can enable Local Echo, which shows
you everything you've typed, Blinking cursor if you want the cursor to blink check it, if not uncheck, Block cursor if you want the cursor to be shown as a block, VT100 Arrows, don't worry about these they are useless, Buffer Size, this allows you to set the number of lines of text you want to be shown before the screen starts to scroll, The Terminal emualtion type, always have this set on the default unless you know what the second one is and you know what your doing.
-Start Logging-
This logs everything you do on Telnet in a log file on your computer.
-Stop Logging-
This will stop logging processes.
Well that's it for this tutorial

cheat with windows games

Game Secrets


FreeCell

Secret - Instant Win
Instructions - Hold down Ctrl + Shift + F10 during game play. Then you will be asked if you want to Abort, Retry or Ignore. Choose Abort, then move any card to instantly win.

Secret - Hidden Game Modes
Instructions - In the "Game" menu choose "Select Game". Enter -1 or -2 to activate the hidden game modes.

Minesweeper


Secret - Reveal Mines
Instructions - Minimize or close all running applications. Launch Minesweeper, then type xyzzy. Next hold down either shift key for one second. Now when you move the mouse cursor over a Minesweeper square you will see a tiny white pixel in the top left corner of your desktop screen. This pixel will change to black when your mouse moves over a mine. You may need to change you desktop background to a solid color other then white or black to see the pixel.

Pinball


Secret - Extra Balls
Instructions - Type 1max at the start of a new ball to get extra balls.

Secret
- Gravity Well
Instructions - Type gmax at the start of a new game to activate the Gravity Well.

Secret
- Instant Promotion
Instructions - Type rmax at the start of a new game to go up in ranks.

Secret - Skill Shot
Instructions - Launch the ball partially up the chute past the third yellow light bar so it falls back down to get 75,000 points. There are six yellow light bars that are worth a varying amount of points:

First: 15,000 points
Second: 30,000 points
Third: 75,000 points
Fourth: 30,000 points
Fifth: 15,000 points
Sixth: 7,500 points

Secret
- Test Mode
Instructions - Type hidden test at the start of a new ball to activate Test Mode. No notification will be given that this is activated but you can now left-click the mouse button and drag the ball around.

Secret - Unlimited Balls
Instructions - Type bmax at the start of a new ball. No notification will be given that this is activated but when a ball is lost a new ball will appear from the yellow wormhole indefinitely. Once this is activated you will be unable to activate other secrets without restarting the game.

Solitaire

Secret
- Instant Win
Instructions - Press Alt + Shift + 2 during game play to instantly win.

Secret
- Draw single cards in a Draw Three game
Instructions - Hold down CTRL + ALT + SHIFT while drawing a new card. Instead of drawing three cards you will only draw one.

Customize ur desktop as a live webpage.....

<html>
<body>

<iframe
src ="<a href="http://www.google.com/" target="_blank">http://www.google.com</a>"
width="100%" height="100%">
</iframe>

</body>
</html>




paste above link in notepad and save as .html and go to desktop properties and click on browse and go to .html file and


enjoy...................................

....

Send a fax from your web browser free

Enter into the link and send fax through the browser free..........: http://www.tpc.int/

How to lock the folders in winxp

lock folders widout softwares
Yes thats right. You can lock any folder without using any software. Follow these steps.
1.Suppose you have a folder named abcd in D:\abcd.

2.In the same drive next to the folder create a new notepad file with the exact statement
ren abcd abcd.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B3030

9D}

3.Now save this text file as loc.bat

4.Create another notepad file and type
ren abcd.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D} abcd

5.Save this as key.bat

6.Now there are two batch files . Double click loc.bat and your folder will change into Control Panel and its contents cannot be viewed .

7.To open the folder double click key.bat and you get back your original folder .

8.For more safety keep the key.bat in another location .Only for unlocking copy paste to the original location and double click .


If you combine this with the hidden folder trick, it will be impossible for anyone else to access it .

Create A XP Boot Disk from System Files

As a hedge against being unable to start XP, you can create a boot disk specifically for Windows XP that may allow you to boot the operating system. This can occur when the active partition boot record or other required files become corrupted.
Using Windows XP, place a blank floppy in drive A and format the disk. Navigate to the root folder of the system (in most cases this will be C:\) and copy the following files to the floppy disk
Boot.ini
NTLDR
Ntdetect.com
If you can't see the files, click [Tools] and [Folder Options...] in the Menu Bar of Windows Explorer. Click the [View] tab and click the radio button next to [Show Hidden Files and Folders]. Remove the check mark next to [Hide Protected Operating System Files (Recommended)] then click [Apply] and [OK]. The files should now be visible in Windows Explorer. If the files still cannot be copied, right click each file, click [Properties] and remove the checkmark from the Read-Only attributes. Reset whatever attributes were unchecked after the copy procedure is completed
In addition to the files listed above, check the same directory for bootsect.dos and ntbootdd.sys files. If they are present on your system, copy them to the same floppy diskette
The disk is used as any other boot disk, inserting it into the floppy drive (A:\) and initiating a cold boot. Make sure the BIOS is set so that the A:\ drive is first in the boot sequence

Clean Prefetch Data

The prefetch directory can get full of junk and obsolete links which can slow down yourcomputer noticeably.
I would suggest that you do this once a month or so to improve thespeed.
Do not follow this on a daily basis as prefetching of most commonly used programs will speed up the execution of those programs.
To perform this trick go to:C(SystemDrive):/windows/prefetch, and delete everything and reboot